Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

I guess my blog has turned into a “what I’ve been doing” rather than a philosophical look at life. That’s fine since Im not sure I have a philosophical opinion of life!

Since I last wrote two events I mentioned have transpired. First the Mad Hatters Tea Party at church on May 19th. In the May 11th post I mentioned the RSVP’s were at 60 and that I was working on getting the Queen of Tarts recipe to work. Well, we had 85 women attend and the Tarts didn’t turn out!! It was a lovely day and we had just enough food. The ladies of the church were very generous with bringing food and even though the tarts didn’t work out we had tons of cookies. The men of the church did a great job of serving and my friend Shari saved my life by helping me the whole day setting up, arranging the food and keeping me calm. The only thing that didn’t work the day of the Tea was the tea. A few days before the tea someone asked if they should bring their teapot. Teapot?! I hadn’t planned on that. And then, the water I heated in the coffee urns wasn’t hot. Who knew that the heat turned off and didn’t keep the coffee (water in my case) hot. That makes sense in that you wouldn’t want the water to keep perking the coffee if you were making coffee. One of the “older” members told me after the fact that in the past they heated BIG pots of water to brew the tea in individual tea pots. No one told me that! As it turned out it was 85 degrees and everyone wanted either iced tea or lemonade and I had both. All in all it was a great event.

The May 26th event, the Emmaus Walk Kitchen reunion, was attend by me, Kathleen, Monica and Val. Most people didn’t even RSVP. A little discouraging but “where two or more are gathered in His name, He is there”. We had good fellowship and planned to get together again in July as Helen is having a Community wide event for women in June.

WOW, June is almost half over and it’s been busy. I worked at Sunset Celebration Weekend (Sunset Magazine) on the 2nd and 3rd. It was fun getting back together with people I have worked with the last 5 years. It’s hard work for good pay and fun to be with everyone. I met another knitter on the crew and we had a great time talking knitting while we worked making sandwiches for Orowheat bread.

This weekend was the start of WWKIP week. The Wednesday night knitting group went to the Morgan Hill Farmers Market for a few hours of knitting on Saturday and then went to lunch at a local Mexican restaurant.

Two other things happened in the past month. The day after the tea I was asked to meet Pastor Tom in his office. All I could think about was “who did I offend at the tea”. Turns out the Session of the church had nominated me to be an Elder for the next 3 years. Whew, I just joined this church and already they want me to be an Elder. I didn’t know if I could do this again. I was an Elder at Immanuel and it was really stressful. However, it just so happen we were studying Moses in the Old Testament where God asked Mosses to lead the Israelites to the Promised Land and after all of Moses’ excuses God said he’d be with him and Moses agreed to lead them, so what could I say! This morning after worship I was commissioned an Elder. The other thing that happened was I was asked to be Kitchen Boss for the Walk to Emmaus in November. After praying on that I said no, not this time but that I would work in the kitchen on the team again. Then the Kitchen Boss called and asked me to be the Assistant Boss. After praying againg (and remembering Moses) I agreed to be the assistant.

David and I did go see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and really enjoyed it mainly because of the cast and the locale. The story was a bit choppy but all and all a good movie.

David and I also went to Half Moon Bay at the end of May for the day. It was great to see my friend Ruth at the HMB Wine and Cheese store.

Whew, it’s been a bust 30 days. I have several things on the calendar between now and when we go to Tacoma for 3 weeks (July 2nd-18th or 19th).

Of course knitting is always happening. I’ve completed a few projects and have a few projects in the works.

Thanks for stopping by and seeing my world.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

