Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

have I been? I can’t believe it’s been two weeks since I wrote anything here. What have I been doing? A little knitting, and getting ready for and working the Walk To Emmaus retreat last weekend.

I am physically and mentally tired. I’m not used to sleeping on a blow up mat in a sleeping bag, getting up at the crack of dawn (well 6:00 a.m. anyway), being on the run all day, lifting heavy pots, pans and ingredients,cooking for 67 women,  and going to bed after 11 p.m. and then doing it all over again the next day. However it was a wonderful weekend working with my sisters in Christ and serving others. I’ve already sent in my request to work again in November. Call me crazy♥ My new friend Kathleen and I are working on a 4th Day Reunion with those who worked in the kitchen on this walk. We don’t want to lose touch with these wonderful women.

Knitting wise, I finished Multidirectional Diagonal Scarf in Noro Silk Garden. This is part of the Knitting Eileen’s Stash Project. I’m taking a break from her stash and working on mine. I have a cable scarf and Monkey III sock (2nd sock) to finish.

Today was the first Bible Study session on The Story. Pastor Tom will be using this study to preach from for 31 weeks in the next year (broken into three 9-10 week sessions). I’m  looking forward to being part of a small group again.

Here’s a picture of the scarf I finished for Eileen. Noro isn’t my favorite yarn. When I first started knitting I thought Noro was fabulous and so colorful. Now I dislike the twigs in the Silk Garden and the scratchiness of most of their yarns. Most of the rest of Eileen’s stash is Manos Classica. This is another one of the yarns I knitted with when I first started. I love the colors but don’t usually knit with heavy worsted yarn these days.

I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Comments on: "Oh where, oh where…….." (4)

  1. Gorgeous yarns and gorgeous colours. I wasn’t keen on Noro at first knit, but several washes later, I love it. As DH said, why knit with anything else?

  2. Your scarf looks beautiful, I know what you mean about noro, I started a scarf in it 18 months ago and haven’t finished it yet. I ought to though, because it is taking up my favourite project bag!

  3. Sounds like an exhausting week, but also great fun and company. And I love the scarf, it’s really pretty

  4. what an awesome thing you did! cooking for all those women..yeesh. exhausting 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

