Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Bundt….

evokes memories of Tunnel of Fudge Cake that I made in the 1970 and 80’s. It was a Pillsbury Bake Off winner You can’t make it quite the same way anymore as they have changed the prepackaged cake mix and frosting mix formula and it doesn’t work the same. You can find a remix of the recipe here.

But today I tried a bundt recipe I found originally by scrolling through the “time sucking” website known as Pinterest. I won’t go through the benefits (or not) of Pinterest because this is about my bundt cake. Somehow I’ve gotten hung up on Samoa type recipes, you know, like the Girl Scout cookie flavor. I made some bar cookies a few weeks ago that sounded better than they turned out. I thought I’d give this recipe a try. I read all the comments people made about Dulce de Leche and decided to use the one that Sur La Table carries

I didn’t have a bundt pan but I have a kugelhopf pan

Kaiser Bakeware La Forme Bundform, 9 Cup.

So far so good. I got all the ingredients together a few days ago and made the cake this afternoon. You have to make two batters, one a brown sugar batter and the other a chocolate batter. The cake is supposed to be a marble cake. I think mine would have been a marble if I hadn’t added the 1 cup of hot water at the end to the chocolate mixture. Strike one. When I made the frosting, I couldn’t see why I had to use 2 cubes of butter. I used 1 1/2. I could have gotten away with 1 cube as I had left over frosting even after I nibbled some while frosting the cake. I only used about 1/2 of the jar of dulce de leche. I didn’t put the frosting in the fridge for an hour as suggested as I suspected the frosting would be too hard to spread.

Anyway, here’s what it looks like before and after frosting. We’re having it for dessert tomorrow, Easter, so I can’t give you a flavor rating yet. I suspect it is going to be really sweet and not the Samoa cookie taste I’m looking for.

Comments on: "Bundt…." (1)

  1. Looks very tasty, I hope it was good!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

