Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

A is for………..

Alpaca.  I’m a knitter. There I said it. Some people think this is an activity for old women, which I don’t consider myself even if I am collecting social security. It has become “hip” to knit in the past few years. I began knitting in 2007 on a beach in Maui, taught by my dear friend Pam. I made dishcloth’s for everyone. Once you know how to knit, purl, increase and decrease you can pretty much do anything.

OK, back to Alpaca. I have a love hate relationship with this fiber. I love how soft it is and how it seems to want to swaddle you in it’s warmth. I hate how it sheds little hairs all over everything I wear. The best way for me to wear alpaca knitted apparel is to buy yarn that is a blend of Alpaca and something else. I recently knitted a shawl in a Alpaca and silk blend. No shedding.

The shawl pattern is Texelle by Phydeaux Design. The yarn is Deerfield by Valley Yarns and is 89% Baby Alpaca and 20% Silk.

I have lots of Alpaca in my stash (i.e. supply of yarn). Some is 100% Alpaca that seduced me by it’s color and softness. Some are blends bought because of color and because they are more practical, no shedding.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for stopping by for my firs A to Z blog. I’m sorry this is so late on the first day. I plan to write in advance (starting B now) from now on.

A TO Z CHALLENGE

Comments on: "A is for……….." (3)

  1. That’s funny I was going to write about alpaca too. There is a farm nearby and I was going to take some photographs of the animals. But I didn’t make it over in time.
    I feel the same way you do about working with this yarn. I don’t like the shedding. And like you I have loads of it in my stash. I keep looking at it guiltily trying to find someway to get rid of it, I mean make something wonderful with it 🙂

  2. I love alpaca, although I know what you mean about the shedding! Alpaca and silk together is one of my favourite types of yarn 🙂

  3. Anonymous said:

    I don’t know anything about Alpaca, but I do remember my mother knitting when I was a kid. I always wished that I learned to knit too. Maybe one day!

    Stopping by from the A to Z challenge and glad to learn something from you.

    http://scraphappychristinescorner.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

