Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Last Sunday, March 4th, was Faith In Action at my church, Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church. I have participated in day of service activities before but this was the first time I was “in charge” of a project. I baked cookies for this project when West Valley Presbyterian did this project in conjunction with Immanuel Presbyterian a couple of years ago. STHPC was looking for a project to add to the others planned for the weekend and I mentioned this organization. I instantly became “in charge” of investigating and reporting back to the World and Local Missions committee.

The Adopt A Chaplain is headquartered locally at Calvary Presbyterian Church. I contacted them and they were very happy to support our project. They guided me on what I need to do and offered to come on Sunday and help us pack the boxes.

I got sign ups for cookie and brownie baking, paying for postage to send the boxes and people to come on Sunday and pack the boxes. I was all set. That’s when I began to worry…what if not one made cookies, if no one came to pack, if I didn’t have enough money to pay for postage? You know what? God had his own plan. We had so many cookies, lots of donations for postage and 17 people came to pack boxesWe packed 34 boxes of cookies, brownies and Girl Scout Cookie donations!!!! It was overwhelming!!  If only I had remembered my own postscript on my email:

Good Morning! This is God. I will be taking care of all your needs and problems. TRUST IN ME!
or…Waste a perfectly good day worrying if you have everything under control

Here is a picture (minus Glenda) of those who packed (and many of them also made cookies and brownies)

Comments on: "Adopt A Chaplain…………." (1)

  1. good for you auntie, that’s awesome!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

