Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Pinterest………..

is a time sucking machine. Worse than Facebook!! But I LOVE it and want to suck all my friends into the same abyss that I find myself in several times a day. I have to set time limits on my time spent there. During the week I usually spend half an hour from 11:00 PM to 11:30 PM on the site. On the weekends I find myself drifting to the computer on my way to do laundry, put something away, do dishes, I think you get the picture. It’s a “chore avoider”. I just left the site and realized I was on my way to do something and now I can’t remember what it was I was going to do! Now I’m blogging about it! The site can be all consuming. I have to admit, I have gotten some really go recipes from it and DH is pleased with that aspect of the “time sucking machine”. I also started thinking of myself as “crafty” in the sense that I picture myself making things. But then I remember the craft disaster of Christmas 2011. But that doesn’t stop me from “pinning” things I think I can make.

This week I sucked my dear friend Carole Ann into the abyss. She has so many projects going that she barely has time to sleep. In the last 3 years she has designed and been her own General Contractor for the re-model of two bathrooms, the front and back yards and most recently the remodel of her kitchen, dining room and living room. She also has a Creative Memories business, does 2-3 craft fair’s a year, does bunka, glass work, and a host of other things. Anyway, she didn’t need this time sucking website to invade her life. When I showed her the site she couldn’t wait to get “invited” by the website to join. She spent a day and a half looking at my site while checking ever 5 minutes to see if she had received her invitation. Finally she’s on!! Thursday night while pouring over crafts that others had pinned she found something that she can make for her craft fair booth later this month. And away she goes!

If you’d like to be sucked into this world, and if you have a Facebook or twitter account (they are different companies but Pinterest seems to be using FB/twitter as part of their platform) you can go to www.pinterest.com and ask for an invitation to be sucked into the abyss, I mean join their site! You can also just browse the site and not join but that’s no fun. How will you remember all the things you want to make, cook, places you want to visit, etc.? Welcome to the Time Sucking Machine!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

