Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

the sweater I started on January 9th. I finished knitting the body which is knit in one piece, including the sleeves, today.  When I went to block it so I can sew it together (and then do the neck) I have 7 stitches too many on one side and am 7 stitches short on the other side of the shoulders. I think I know where the problem came from and have emailed the designer via Ravelry for help. GRRRRRRRRRR.

 

I did finish the BoneYard Scarf but think it’s too small. I am going to block it (when the sweater gets off the bed where I do my blocking) and hope it gets bigger. Unfortuneatly it has acrylic in the mix and I’m not sure how much I can get it to grow.

 

One sock is done so I’m going to start sock two while I wait for a response from the sweater designer.

The weather here is beautiful, in the high 60’s. Maybe tomorrow DH and I will do something in the afternoon outdoors.

Just a side note; I got my gel nails taken off yesterday. I’ve been doing my nails with gel or acrylic for about 30 years (can that be right? maybe 20 years). They are so thin!! I want to say to all of you “Don’t start with the fake (over real) nails. This is going to take a long time to grow out.

Hope everyone is having a good weekend.

Comments on: "Trying not to cry about……….." (3)

  1. Awwww, I feel your pain and frustration! The nails will grow out – I’ve gone back to my acrylics because I can’t stand the way my nails looked without them and no matter what anyone says – polish will not stay on more than a couple of days! I refill every three weeks though so it’s not too bad… glad you’re getting the knitting straightened out too!

  2. Once you let your nails get healthy again, there is a process, which I now use, called Shellac. The polish absolutely lasts for 14 days. There is no acrylic and no fillers. The whole secret is in the polish and the process that is used to apply the polish.
    Here is a web site with more info you are interested:

    http://www.cnd.com/Products/Color/shellac-hello.aspx

  3. […] up to try knitting another sweater. If you haven’t seen the sweater debacle you can go to this post and this […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

