Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

BRRRRRRRRR………..

it’s cold. I realize that many of you who are reading this are going to think I’m a sissy for thinking it cold when the high is 55 and the low is 30. But this is California, we’re not supposed to have to cover our plants to avoid frost bite on the leaves. Hopefully it will warm up to maybe 60-62 when the rain finnnnnaaaaly gets here later this week. We live in a mobile home/trailer that is not well insulated. It does no good to turn up the heat as it just goes out the poor windows and non weather stripped doors. DH likes to cook and shop but not do handy work around the house nor want to pay someone to do it.

Today was my day off as the scheduling manager doesn’t seem to want to change my day off back to Fridays so I can have 3 day weekends. Guess I’ll just have to get used to it. I thought about going to a knitting meet up at Panera but decided not to. I was thinking about going to a LYS that is going out of business to see if they had anymore yarn I might need (need? want!) but decided not to go. Thought about joining another group at another LYS and decided not to. I hunkered down with my WIP’s and sat on the sofa knitting and watching tv all day. Watched The View, Martha Stewart, The Chew, Nate Burkas Show, and Ellen DeGeneress. David is making dinner (beef, mushroom and barley soup) so I don’t even need to cook.

I can’t believe I have 3 WIP’s. I started a pair of socks a couple of weeks ago. I’ve made 2 or 3 pairs of this pattern and only this time did I notice I am supposed to KTB (knit through the back loop) for the gusset and the rest of the foot (excluding the instep that is knit in pattern). I started a sweater about a week ago and am about 2/3’s done. I’m knitting the back that is connected to the dolman sleeves. I’m worrying that the sweater is going to be reallllyyyy big. Going to keep knitting and see what happens; after all it’s just yarn that can be frogged if it doesn’t work out.  Then this afternoon, when I got tired of working on the sweater, I decided to go through my stash and see if I could connect some of my yarn stash to patterns in my queue on Ravelry. I matched some yarn to a Stephen West pattern and started knitting. The sweater pattern is Flugel made with Berroco Vintage Chunky. The socks are Basic Ribbed Socks made with Three Irish Girls Cashmerino . The shawl/scarf is Boneyard in Classic Elite Woodland

Here are some pictures of what I’m working on. Hope those of you who knit are working away on projects and all of you around the country (and possibly the world) are staying warm this winter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "BRRRRRRRRR……….." (6)

  1. Oooh, fancy slideshow! I like it 😉

    I think having mulitple WIPs is a great way to avoid getting bored (which is why I may have 6 on the needles right now!)

  2. LOVE the slideshow! 🙂

    The works in progress all look fantastic. I hope keeping busy helps take your mind off the cold. I definitely feel blessed being inland CA when it comes to the weather, though it has been quite chilly here at night. I can’t wait for the rain to get here! 😀

  3. Everything looks great! I love the yarn you’re using for your socks. It looks so soft and squishy.

  4. We went from 63 to 23 in one day, which really isn’t unusual for our Midwest town. I would love 55 as a median. LOL.

  5. I absolutely LOVE the colorway for those socks!

  6. I really like the sweater, it looks so soft, and what a great colour!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

