Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

WIP Wednesday……………..

But not mine. Yesterday we were Upcountry in Maui and we stopped at Hui Ho’Eau Visual Arts Center near Makawao. If you are in the Bay Area  (SF, CA)  and know about Villa Montalvo in Saratoga this is a similar facility. Anyway, Patrick Dougherty’s Stickwork sculpture is under construction on the property here in Maui. The reason I picked this for my WIP is that I saw his exhibit at Villa Montalvo a few years ago when I was a volunteer with the Service Group there. I was very excited to have a chance to talk to Patrick as he was working on building the exhibit here in Maui. I can’t tell you how wonderful his projects are. They become living things over time as wildlife often take up residence in the sculptures. Depending where the exhibit is children (and adults too) enjoy going in and out of the exhibit and feeling the life in the project. I hope you’ll follow this link to his website and see some of the wonderful structures he has built around the world.

As for me, I haven’t knit much the past few days but did start the partner sock from my FO Friday project.

Please click on the photos to get a better look at the details of the structures that are being built.

Comments on: "WIP Wednesday…………….." (1)

  1. I knew it was Patrick Dougherty right away! He did a huge installation at the Kohler Arts Center many years ago when I was working there and it was so much fun to watch him work and see the installation grow! Love your photos!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

