Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

WIP Wednesday

I’ve been absent for a couple of weeks but I have been knitting. While we were away in Oregon I casted on for another pair of Monkey Socks by Cookie A and continued to work on Dawn’s Twisted Scarf. I love the yarn for both of these projects. The socks are Liberty’s Yarn from Mt Ranier, Washington in a merino, cashmere, nylon blend. The scarf is Star Light from Universal Yarns that I like because of the shimmer thread that runs through it.

Dawn's Twisted Scarf

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I finished the first sock last  Saturday and casted on the 2nd sock on Monday. I still have several projects zzz’ing and might take one to Maui next week.

Finished sock 1 Monkey by Cookie A

Sock 2 Monkey by Cookie A

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Saturday I picked up a Sock Loom at JoAnn’s with my 50% off coupon. Why I thought this might be fun, I don’t know. So far I feel like an idiot. I can’t seem to get the tension loose enough to easily make the stitches slid off the pegs easily. The lady on the dvd makes it look so easy. There is a Sock Loom knitting group on Ravelry that is very supportive but this might not be for me. I have no problem knitting socks the old fashion way so I may gift this to a friend in Maui while I’m there.

Sock Loom

Hope you all are having (or had) a good Wednesday.

Comments on: "WIP Wednesday" (5)

  1. Both your projects look like dragon scales! RAWR!

  2. I swear everyone makes more than one pair of monkey socks, so far I have made two.

    I have never heard of a sock loom, looks more complicated than just knitting them with needles.

  3. The texture of that scarf is making me swoon a little! It looks so good in that colour, too.

  4. Oooh, pretty green yarn 🙂

    I have Monkey socks in my queue, but they look a little more complicated than I think I’m ready for yet! Yours look great

  5. Gorgeous, leafy green color on the scarf! And it looks so good with the stitch pattern.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

