Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

WIP…

I always wanted to knit a sweater but didn’t like the idea of knitting it in pieces and having to sew them together. I’m the person who tries to fit the puzzle piece where it doesn’t belong (i.e. doesn’t fit). I worry that if my gauge isn’t right, I don’t measure correctly, and a multitude of other worries, it won’t fit together, just like my puzzle pieces. So, when I discovered you can knit a sweater in one piece, top down with minimal sewing, I was in for this. One of my goals this year was to “Knit something that has to fit”. Unlike my usual procrastination self I made a Top Down Cardi in January so as to not put off my goal. I did it! Next I tried the February Lady Sweater but didn’t like the garter stitch yoke in the yarn I was using. While at the library a couple of weeks ago, where my knitting group is now meeting, I checked out AwareKnits and found this cute cardi. So far so good. Today I start the front lace panels. Hoping to have this done by the weekend so I can block it and take it on vacay to Oregon next week. My SIL’s who are avid spinner/dyer/knitter/weaver’s will be there and I want to show them my project. Here’s where I am today

The sleeves still need to have a 1″ ribbing added as well.

Comments on: "WIP…" (8)

  1. Looking good! Here’s hoping it continues to go well.

  2. Love this, I am so into top down cardi’s at the moment, I’m off to go and check out the pattern you are doing.

    Good luck and can’t wait to see the final cardi.

  3. This looks lovely! The colour is very pretty!

  4. Very cute!! I love knitting top down in the round. And bonus, you can try it on!

  5. Looking good so far, and a nice color too 🙂

  6. It looks great so far!!!
    I’m with you, though — I think when I get around to attempting a sweater, it’s going to have to be mostly (if not exclusively) one piece. I am not much for the hand-sewing and avoid it whenever possible.

  7. looks great – looking forward to the modeling pics.

  8. Very nice, I look forward to seeing the end result. The only sweater that I’ve knitted so far was for my cat (I know weird) but I will knit one for myself one day. I’m actually trying to get my sister to knit a sweater for me, she much better and more advanced than I.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

