Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

J is for……..

Jacks!

Back at the letter B I talked about my friend Pam’s mother Betty. Today I am remembering Pam and the summer afternoons we spent playing Jacks on her front porch.

When we were growing up there was no cable TV, video games, game boxes, i-pads, i-phones, wii, you get the picture. It was what you would consider today, The Stone Age.

We played outdoors all summer long. Playing games was a big part of our summer. Hopscotch, marbles, pick up sticks and jacks, long games of Monopoly, canasta, whatever we felt like each day.

That brings me to afternoons with Pam on her porch. It was a small cement porch, about 4 feet wide and 5 feet deep. We could sit about 4 of us and have room to play. I watched a couple of YouTube video’s about playing jacks before I started writing this and saw that jacks are now made of plastic. The ones we had were metal and the ball was red. We played for hours. I can remember playing regular jacks, around the world and pigs in the pen. There are actually several games you can play.

I hope that if you have children, grandchildren, nieces or nephews you will find a set of jacks and spend and afternoon playing with them and remember a time a long time ago when things were simple.

Todays recipe is for Rachael Ray for Buffalo Chicken Jalapeno Poppers

  • 8 – 20 jalapeño peppers
  • 1/3 cup hot sauce, such as Frank’s Red Hot
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cups of rotisserie chicken, skin and bones removed, shredded
  • 1 rib celery, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles

Preheat oven to 425ºF.

Working lengthwise, slice off the top quarter of each jalapeño. Using a small spoon or paring knife, scrape the seeds and ribs out of each jalapeño.

Place a small saucepot over low heat. Add hot sauce and whisk in the butter until melted. In a medium size bowl, combine the pulled chicken, celery, Monterey Jack cheese and half of the blue cheese.

Scoop some of the chicken mixture into each of the peppers, filling them all up. Lightly mound the chicken into each pepper. Place the peppers in a baking dish and top with the remaining blue cheese.

Bake the peppers until tender and heated through, about 15 minutes. Serve warm.

I have one of these to make them on the barbecue. You can also use it in the oven. It comes with a tool for coring out the pepper. You can purchase it from Sur La Table at their store or online.

 

Comments on: "J is for…….." (4)

  1. I remember those metal jacks and the long hot summers (we did have them in England). My mum was a demon jacks player. I’ve been looking at your other posts and am so taken with the pictures of Lake Tahoe, simply beautiful. I’ve heard of it, but hadn’t realised how lovely it is. Hope you had lots of fun at the Fibre Festival.

  2. You know, I’ve never played jacks – but now I want to get some 😉

  3. Gee, your post brought back summertime memories for me. Although I wasn’t big on playing jacks, there were the long games of Canasta and Monopoly at the picnic table under the big old apple tree.

  4. I used to LOVE playing jacks!!! Thanks for the memory!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

