Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

G is for………..

ABC Blogging

Gift Cards.  I am writing this late Saturday afternoon (won’t post on the forum until Monday morning). I started early because today I tried to spend my Gift cards but couldn’t make up my mind at the yarn shop what I should buy. The sales person said spending Gift cards is almost harder than spending money!  Imagine that! I’m also the gal who can’t go into a shoe store with too many shoes (think Nordstrom, Macy’s, DSW, Off Broadway) or I leave without anything. Too many choices. I like things simple, don’t give me too many choices. Even a restaurant with too many choices (Cheesecake factory) won’t get me back because there are too many things on the menu to choose from. OR, I always buy the same shoes or order the same item off the menu. But I digress….

Here is how I got the Gift cards. Last December, Bobbins Nest in Santa Clara, CA was having a promotion. Purchase a $25.00 Gift card and take 20% off your yarn purchase the day you bought the card (I think it was 20%). Being one who likes to spend money to save money  I went down to the shop, bought some yarn, got my Gift card and was about to leave the shop. My friend Carrie comes into the shop and says “I was just coming to buy your christmas gift, what do you want? So I pick out more yarn and away we go. Fast forward to my birthday in April, Carrie gives me the $25.00 Giftt card she bought in order to get her discount that day on the yarn she bought me and now gives me the $25.00 Gift card! On June 5th my church was having Appreciation Sunday to recognize folks who had been active in service to the church (our church closed June 12th after 47 years but that’s another story). Lo and behold, the woman in charge of the gifts knew I liked to knit, lives in Santa Clara and went to Bobbins nest to purchase me a $50.00 Gift card. I now have more than $75.00 in Gift cards. But wait there’s more!! Bobbins Nest is ending their current rewards program on June 30th (starting new program July 1st). On the old program, when you spend $200.00 you get a Gift card for $20.00. I only need to spend $45.00 of the Gift cards I have to get another Gift card for $20.00.

So, today I went to the shop to spend $45.00’s in Gift card money so I could get another $20.00 Gift card and ran into TOO MANY CHOICES!!!!!! I wound up sitting down and knitting for forty-five minutes to collect myself so I could think about what I want. I came home and found a few patterns I need (read, “want”) yarn for and check needles I need and tomorrow will hopefully be more successful. I’ll add to the post tomorrow (in case someone is reading this today and wants to come back and see what happened.)

OK, PART II of the Gift card dilemma. DONE!! After checking my queue and paper patterns I decided I only need yarn for one project, Echo Reversible Drop-Stitch Mobius , needles for Ali’s Cap and of course more sock yarn. I bought Vintage Chunky by Berroco for the Echo, Chiaogoo needles for Ali’s Cap and Hazel Knits sock yarn. After applying some of my Gift card money to my purchase, earning $20.00 for reaching 200 points, I now still have $48.00 on my card!!! 

OMGosh, what should I buy next?

This weeks recipe is from (again)  The Pioneer Woman

Grilled Chicken & Pineapple Quesadilla

Added on May 17, 2010 in Main CoursesPoultry

Prep Time 15 Minutes
Cook Time 25 Minutes
Servings 6 Difficulty Easy

Ingredients

  • 8 whole Flour Tortillas
  • Butter Or Margarine
  • 2 cups Grilled Pineapple, Sliced
  • 3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 3 cups Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Sliced
  • Cilantro
  • 3 Tablespoons Barbecue Sauce

Preparation Instructions

(To grill pineapple: cut wedges, stick on skewers, and grill over low heat. Cut into slices.)

(To pound chicken, place inside a Ziploc bag and pound with a mallet or large can to flatten to uniform thickness.)

Sprinkle with salt and pepper and Cajun spice (or cumin/cayenne, etc.) Drizzle olive oil on a grill pan and grill on both sides until done, brushing with barbecue sauce. Set aside and slice into very thin slices.

Warm griddle over medium heat and put sizzling butter or margarine in the pan. Slightly warm and toast tortillas on both sides, then remove from griddle and set aside.

To assemble, sprinkle four browned tortillas with grated Monterey Jack. Arrange chicken slices evenly over the surface. Add pineapple slices and jalapeno slices. Sprinkle on cilantro. If desired, drizzle extra barbecue sauce over the top. Add second browned tortilla on top of each one. (You’ll have four complete quesadillas at this point.)

Add to oven to warm, or back to skillet to warm, until cheese is melted. Cut each quesadilla into six wedges. Serve with sour cream, pico de gallo, and lime wedges.

Comments on: "G is for……….." (11)

  1. I can relate to the gift card dilemma. Although I’ve never had as many to deal with as you, even one can send me spinning about a store looking for “just the right thing”. Your recipe, by the way, looks delicious.

  2. bigmonkeypie said:

    Oh, I hear you on the gift card conundrum, ’cause my mother-in-law gives me a big gc to my favorite yarn store every year (and usually gives me & my husband a check to split on top of the gc’s, and that check usually just goes to the yarn/comics stores where we’re spending the gc’s…but that’s another story). Here’s what I’ve done to combat wandering around in a yarn-induced daze for an hour before making a decision: 1. I use my Ravelry queue and try to match up the patterns to yarn I already have. 2. Whatever I don’t have yarn for, I add to a spreadsheet. 3. In the spreadsheet, I list the yarn from the pattern or the sub I’ve decided on & the amount along with anything else I think might work in case my local place doesn’t have what I need in stock. 4. Since I use Open Office, I can easily export the spreadsheet to a PDF, which I then e-mail to my Kindle. 5. Voila! I pull out the Kindle once I hit the store and know exactly what I’m looking for.

    This method combines a good number of my nerd-loves (yarn, charting & planning, & my Kindle) in one and got me home in record time with 8 projects’ worth of yarn after last Xmas’s expedition. Looking forward to seeing what you decided on!

    • I don’t know if I would ever be able to make it all the way to the step 5. Voila! part, but I am totally impressed by your method!

  3. I wish you would have called me – I could certainly have helped you shop!! Haha!! I LOVE gift cards – I love picking out what I want instead of giving a polite thank you for something I’ll never use… not that I don’t appreciate it, but if someone doesn’t know me and gets me something that is “so not me,” I just don’t know what to do with it… so, it sits in a closet or drawer collecting dust. Maybe one day I’ll give them away or have a garage sale. So, yes, give me the gift card!! ;-D

  4. I’m exactly the same with gift cards! My MIL gave me a $100 gift card to a clothing store for my birthday (in March) & I still haven’t come to a decision

  5. Wow you lucky girl! I’m over in the UK and as far as I know you cant get gift cards for the yarn shops (at least where I am anyway!), but I understand how hard it is to choose! (Even if there were gift cards in my LYS, you wouldn’t want to spend it there as if you buy more than 2 skeins of yarn you get a telling off – they seriously don’t understand the importance of the stash!)

  6. I have not been to my LYS in such a long time. I have been impressively disciplined and am determined to use up as much of my stash, if not all, before I visit. BUT, since my birthday is July 1, AND if someone were to give me a gift card to my LYS, well then, I would just HAVE to visit, now wouldn’t I?

  7. I think you did remarkably well with your selection. I just get completely phased by decisions like that. I’m going to Knit Nation over here in London in July and I know I’ll get home kicking myself over what I should/shouldn’t have bought.

  8. Lucky you! I can understand the dilemma of going to yarn stores. There’s just sooooo many squishy skeins of yarn just begging to be taken home.

  9. this sounds delish!! *writes down recipe*

  10. I know the dilemma. My boyfriend once offered to spend £50 on yarn for me, and I ended up coming out with one ball of dishcloth cotton, a needle sizer and a pattern book. He couldn’t believe it, but there was just too much to buy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

