Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

E is for…………..

Exploding Stash. I started to do my “52 pick-up routine” this morning (go around and pick up and put away 52 things that are not where they should be) and realized that my stash (yarn for non yarnies) has begun to overflow again. I had this under control until the last two months. I had put myself on a yarn diet and was trying to pick projects that allowed me to use the yarn I already had. Then beginning in late March that plan fell apart. In March we went on a working vacation (house and pet sitting for my brother) in Seattle/Tacoma, Washington. I created my own yarn shop crawl so we could see the area and have a destination. I drug my husband  to yarn shops each day with promise of a nice meal along the way. Of course I had to buy yarn at almost all of them. I decided I would only buy yarn that I didn’t have access to at my own LYS’s. Then in late April it was my birthday and my yarn group feted me with more yarn. Then in May it was our local Peninsula to Pier Shop Hop and more opportunities to buy yarn! As you can see, it is really not my fault that my stash has exploded!

Yarn and WIP's in basket and bags in the family room

Tote in bedroom stuffed with stash

Stash in bags and box in the bedroom on the cedar chest

Blue tote with more yarn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The recipe for the week comes from my favorite TV chef, Ina Garten. This recipe is from her book Barefoot in Paris. I love arranging the leaves and positioning the pears and walnuts to make a lovely presentation.

Endive, Pear, and Roquefort Salad

Copyright 2004, Barefoot in Paris, All Rights Reserved

Prep Time:
15 min
Inactive Prep Time:
Cook Time:
Level:
Easy
Serves:
3 servings

Ingredients

  • 4 to 6 heads of Belgian endive
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Champagne vinegar or white wine vinegar
  • 3/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • *1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 2 ripe Bartlett pears, halved, cored, and sliced
  • 1/4 pound good Roquefort cheese
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnut halves

Directions

Trim off the core end of each head of endive and slice it in half lengthwise. Cut out the cores, separate the leaves, and place 1 1/2 to 2 heads of endive on each plate.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the vinegar, mustard, egg yolk, salt, and pepper. Slowly whisk in the olive oil to make an emulsion. Toss the pears with some vinaigrette and place on the endive. Drizzle the remainingvinaigrette over the endive leaves to moisten them. Crumble the Roquefort onto the endive. Sprinkle with walnuts and serve at room temperature.

* Raw Eggs

*RAW EGG WARNING
Food Network Kitchens suggest caution in consuming raw and lightly cooked eggs due to the slight risk of salmonella or other food-borne illness. To reduce this risk, we recommend you use only fresh, properly refrigerated, clean grade A or AA eggs with intact shells, and avoid contact between the yolks or whites and the shell.

Comments on: "E is for………….." (3)

  1. Of course it’s not your fault your stash has exploded. None of us can do anything about it. Maybe it’s genetic?

  2. I’ve been really good about staying on my yarn diet. But apparently it must be a maintenance diet, because somehow my stash just seems to maintain itself.

  3. There’s never too much yarn, there’s just not enough boxes to put it in!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

