Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

B is for…….

ABC Blogging

Betty. I thought about this last week and here it is 10:15 pm in California and I just remembered to do the blog! Actually missing Hawaii 5-0 to do this!!

Anyway, Betty was my friend Pam’s mom. The Harvey’s lived across the street from us on Bennington Drive in Sunnyvale, CA. This was a new subdivision called Cherry Chase and we moved in in 1955. I remember the houses across the street weren’t built when we moved in and I think it was at least a year to year and a half  later that I met Pam. She was a year older than me. I remember that her grandmothers were called Memaw. Both her grandmothers were often at her house because both her parents worked. Betty worked at Sears and as a result Pam always had the latest clothes. Pam was also and only child, something I longed to be (I have a brother and a sister and I’m the oldest).

When we were in high school (Fremont High School, go Indians!) I would go every morning over to Pam’s to pick her up for our walk to school (before we got a car). Betty had laid out Pam’s clothes for the day the night before and every day she went through Pam’s purse to make sure she had a clean hankie and money in her wallet. I really wanted to be an only child.

Pam’s senior year her parents gave her a new 1965 Mustang and my parents helped me buy Pam’s old Corvair Monza (burgundy red with white leather seats).

Over the years I saw Betty only occasionally. I saw her mostly over the years at the Cancer Society resale shop in Sunnyvale where she volunteered. She was a cancer survivor until it returned in 2008. Betty passed away in October 2009.

At Betty’s memorial service her son-in-law spoke about how he went to Betty to ask for Pam’s hand in marriage (Pam was a widow at a young age) and Betty told him she came with the package. “Marry my daughter you marry me too!” Betty and her daughter Pam are probably the closest Mother/Daughter team I have ever known.

I want to point out that I had a great mom (who passed away in February 2009) and really love my brother Dan and sister Christina. My envy of Pam and her mother was a temporary thing that I grew out of as I grew in relationship with my own mom Louise.

Since I wrote about Apples last week and Betty this week I’m posting a recipe for Apple Brown Betty. Enjoy!

Apple Brown Betty

Epicurious | March 2000

by Edna Lewis
In Pursuit of Flavor 

1 1/2 teaspoons freshly grated nutmeg1/2 cup sugar3 cups 1/4-inch bread cubes2 tablespoons melted butterGrated rind of 1 lemon2 pounds large apples

2 to 4 tablespoons cold water (optional)

Preheat the oven to 375°F.

Combine the nutmeg and the sugar and set aside 2 tablespoons.

Put the bread cubes in a bowl and toss with the rest of the sugar mixture, the melted butter, and the lemon rind.

Peel, core, and slice the apples into fairly thick wedges.

Line the bottom of a heavy 1 1/2-quart casserole with 1 cup of the bread cubes. Layer half of the apples over the bread and top with 1/2 cup of the bread cubes. Layer the rest of the apples in the casserole and sprinkle with water. Cover with the rest of the bread cubes and evenly sprinkle the reserved 2 tablespoons of sugar over the top. Put the lid on the casserole or cover tightly with foil. Bake in the center of the preheated oven for 40 minutes.
Take the lid off the betty, and bake for 10 to 15 minutes longer, or until apples are tender and the topping is brown.Source Information
In Pursuit of Flavor, © 1988, by Edna Lewis, Reprinted by permission of Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., and University Press of Virginia.


Comments on: "B is for……." (4)

  1. Great post! The recipe looks yummy!

  2. Great post! I’ve longed to be an only child, having 4 sisters and 1 brother lol.

  3. Lovely story – and I rather like the sound of that recipe. Might give it a go.

  4. What a great tribute and how fitting to include a recipe with your ABCs in them! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

