Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

A is for Apple….

Each Monday for 26 weeks I’ll be posting a blog entry that begins with the letter of the alphabet for the week (this weeks letter is A).

I embarked on a radical weight loss plan on September 20, 2010. Before I describe what I did, let me tell you that I do not endorse the diet I did for 6 weeks for anyone who has even the slightest health problem.

I followed the HCG diet (you can get info at KetoMist.com). I was desperate. I had gained about 40 pounds over the past 10 years and was pretty miserable. Just before we went on our annual vacation in September to Maui, my friend Cindy (who I hadn’t seen most of the summer) came into church looking wonderful. She had lost 60 pounds in about 4 months! I had to know what she did. She told me about this diet and mentioned that several people (well 27 to be exact) where she worked were also on this plan and were all losing weight. She gave me the website and I checked it out. I realized I had done this around 1978 via shots and had lost a ton of weight. But, I also remember gaining it all back very quickly. Well, I decided I was ready to do something NOW. I ordered the product and then went to Maui.

I should mention that my husband had told me he was going to quit smoking while we were in Maui. I knew I would have to be supportive of his effort and told him when we got back in 2 weeks that I was going to go on this diet and would need his support. We agreed to support each other. (I should mention that he lost about 25 pounds before he quit smoking and has kept most of it off and is still smoke free today).

The diet is very restrictive. You get 2 fruits a day (apple, grapefruit or strawberries are the only choices) plus 2 protein servings and limited veggies. Well, apples were available and inexpensive (thank you Wal-Mart). David started buying me apples several times a week as I ate 2 apples a day (sometimes I cheated and had 3 a day). The ladies at  Wal-Mart started calling him the apple man. At work it became a joke that all I ate were apples. 

I lost 30 pounds in 6 weeks, made it through Thanksgiving and Christmas doing maintenance and losing another 5 pounds and have maintained my weight loss. I still eat 2-3 apples a day and watch what I eat, some days better than others. Apples are my best friends!

after pic January 2011

Before pic (me in the middle in pink) circa October 2007

Comments on: "A is for Apple…." (2)

  1. Well done you for losing the weight! 🙂

  2. Congratulations, you look great. I love the cardigan. My husband and I are on “The 17 Day Diet”. It sounds similar.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

