Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2011

It’s safe to say I am a Safe knitter ! I do things that are safe. I was raised by a mother who was a perfectionist, she did everything perfect in my eyes. Thus I didn’t learn to speak French as she was French and always criticized my pronunciation. I didn’t learn to sew, as she was a seamstress and I couldn’t sew a seam straight. I do have to pat myself on the back and say I can cook and bake because it never really interested her, but still, she was a good cook. (I love my mom and miss her a lot)

Thus, I find it takes me a long time to try a new skill. I’m afraid of making a mistake and ruining the yarn when I have to frog it. But, what I always learn, after the fact, is that It’s Just Yarn!

I did start a list of things I wanted to do in 2011 and actually completed one goal in January. I wanted to make something that had to fit me. I wanted to make a sweater. But, all those pieces to sew together made me re-think my project. So, I made a raglan, top down, cropped cardi and it fit!!

Here is my list of things to learn (not in any special order), maybe not all this year but there is no race to be won here.

Finishing: How to sew in the ends so they don’t pop up or out down the road. How to sew seams together so I can make a sweater that is not raglan.

Entrelac: Maybe just a square to make a pillow (I’ll ask my friend Carrie to sew it up for me!)

Free Form Knitting: I did take a class on this at Stitches West this year and just need to find time to do it.

Color Work: This week while we’ve been in Tacoma and traveling to yarn shops in the area, my husband has commented how much he likes all those items that have patterns. Maybe doing  a swatch will get me started.

Toe Up Socks, Two at a Time Socks, Magic Loop Socks: I get by just fine doing socks using my 9′ circular needles but these techniques intrigue me.

Non Related Knitting aspiration: since doing this blog all week, I want to learn to use WordPress better and to make my blog more interesting.

Thanks for reading and I hope you’ll come by again.

 

 

 

Comments on: "Blog week 2011 2kcbwday6, Aspirations of a Knitter" (2)

  1. Hey, top-down is better than nada. What a cute one that is.
    You have some terrific aspirations. Keep forging ahead, one step at a time.

  2. You sound very much like me, my Mother is Belgian and I didn’t learn French either!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

