Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Blog week 2011 2kcbwday4

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2011

Where are they now?

Today we’re blogging about projects from the past and where they  are now.

I do charity knitting for several groups and wonder where my things wind up. Hats for premies, did the baby make it?  Scarves, hats and gloves for teens living in shelters in San Francisco, are they alright? But mostly I wonder what happen to the scarf I made for Tracy.

Tracy was a troubled soul. One day someone invited her to our church (the same person who invited me, but that’s another story). Even though we had very different stories we shared one thing; The Holy Spirit met us at the door of that church the first Sunday we attended.

Tracy often commented on the scarves I wore so I offered to make one for her. She was going through a tough time and I wanted to do something for her. I made her a scarf using Manos del Uraguay in a beautiful multi color blue, to match her eyes. She wore it when she rode her BIG motorcycle.

About two months later she died.  I don’t know what happened and I don’t need to know. At her service the church was packed with people whose lives she had touched. I don’t think she knew how many people loved and cared about her. There was even a “salute” to her by the Christian motorcycle group she rode with, “The Reving of the Engines” in the courtyard of our church! What a sight and SOUND that was.

Her family came to empty her apartment. I wondered if they’d ask “Who knitted this scarf?”. I really wanted the scarf back so I would never forget Tracy. Should I try to call them? No, of course not.

So, when this topic came up, I remembered Tracy. Her troubled soul, her desperate need to be loved, her great smile, her motorcycle, the Reving of The Engines. I know she is at peace.  For me it isn’t about the scarf but about remembering Tracy.

Comments on: "Blog week 2011 2kcbwday4" (3)

  1. knitting1105 said:

    What a beautiful and sad story. I love making things and giving them to people when they least expect them. I feel that I knit healing and good wishes into things that I make.

    A beautiful blue scarf flapping in the wind.

  2. I’m sure your friend appreciated your kindness in knitting her a scarf. Knowing someone cares enough to knit you something is a wonderful feeling.

  3. This post brought tears to my eyes. I’m sure she realised how special the scarf was, you obviously put a lot of thought into it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

