Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Blog week 2011 2kcbwday2

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2011

(I’ll be busy all day Tuesday (Day 2) so I thought I’d do this Monday night)

Skill + 1UP

After saying most of 2009 that “I’ll never make socks” I made socks for the first 6 months of 2010. I discovered 9′” circular needles that means no ladders between dpns. I made socks for me and socks for charity knitting.

I learned to do gloves and fingerless gloves with a thumb. People liked them so much that I wound up making them as gifts.

Last but not least I learned to do lace and read charts. Now I look forward to working patterns with charts.

My goal for 2011 is entrelac. Also, I taught myself to do Tunisian Crochet in January and hope to get better (especially on the left edge).

 

Comments on: "Blog week 2011 2kcbwday2" (8)

  1. I tried socks one time and decided that they are not for me. My nutkin is still waiting for its second pair! 😉

  2. I love socks, it is a bit of an obsession. I think it is the speed compared to making a jumper. Not tried using circulars yet though

    • napiligal said:

      9″ circ’s are so easy. I do transfer the heel to a dpn and knit the heelflap, the heel and pick up for the gusset on dpns. I then knit a couple of rows on the dpns before going back to the circ

  3. Woohoo, socks! Those are my favourite things to work on. Congrats on learning how to knit them!

  4. I love how you learned how to knit socks and fingerless mitts and regular gloves. Those are some items I would like to try this year as well. Good for you!

  5. Congrats on your entrance to the world of socks!

  6. That’s totally cool that you’re hanging around here! I like the weaving works alot, but don’t get up there too often. I just heard of Yellow house today and since it’s only a couple of miles from where I live, I plan to check them out ASAP! Isn’t yarn tourism great? Ever since I started knitting, it seems like every time I travel, it’s just a big yarn crawl. Let us know about Debbi Macombers in Port Orchard, That’s one I’d really like to check out.

    • napiligal said:

      I was in So Calif last week (we live in No Calif) and went to several shops there.
      We did the same here in WA last year. My husband doesn’t mind going as it’s fun to stop in all the towns and look around.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

