Wishing I was in Maui, but dealing with being here

Day 1….


of the Yarn Shop Hop. Carrie, Pat and I left San Jose at 9:30 and made our way to Nine Rubies in San Mateo. Didn’t take us long to get into the swing on yarn shopping and buying. This was going to be a fun day. I better explain for those of you not familiar with the YSH. Eleven yarn shops from San Mateo to Pacific Grove are welcoming knitter’s to come to their stores to purchase yarn and be given a pattern to knit a square to be part of an afghan.

At Nine Rubies in San Mateo  (I forgot to take pictures) they got me when they said the yarn they chose was Malabrigo as the yarn to use for their block.  Next to Manos this is my favorite yarn. They offered two patterns that offer techniques I haven’t done before so that should be interesting. Then back down to Santa Clara and Bobbins Nest. Erin has a pattern with a bird (get it? Bobbins Nest) made with Misti Alpaca.  Over to Green Planet Yarn was our next stop. Didn’t especially care for the yarn but Pat bought yarn and got the pattern and will share. Then over the hill to Swift Stitch. Their pattern was made with Manos (yeah) but I already have lots of Manos at home so I didn’t buy the yarn but Pat got this pattern as well. Chicks with Stix in Santa Cruz was our next stop. Cathy was waiting with patterns and yarn. I got a pattern but didn’t buy yarn for it. I did want to support her so I bought some Cascade Quattro. Over to The Yarn Place. Picked up the pattern Gunilla designed. I don’t quite understand her pattern but can go to GPY on a Sunday and ask her about it. Didn’t buy yarn here (Pat got the pattern). After coffee and a biscotti cookie it was back over the hill to The Knitting Room. MaryAnn has designed a pattern with cables. I bought Cascade 220 to make this square. Her husband/co-owner of the shop, Ed, showed us how to knit socks with 2 circular needs. Looks fairly easy once you get the hand of it. What a nice couple. I arrived home at 7:30.

I have no business doing this as I haven’t finished the Four Seasons Afghan that I started in 2008!! However, I want to do my part to support the LYS’s in this area. Last year there were at least 16 shops that participated in the hop and  4 of them have closed.  A couple of other shops have chosen not to participate this year because of the added expense. Thank you to those who did and we will continue to patronize your shops.

Saturday will be easy. We’ll stop at Continental Stitch in Morgan Hill after we pick up Pat (she lives in MH). Then we’ll go down to Pacific Grove to Monarch and then to Carmel for a shop there. Weather should be great so we’ll have lunch down there and do a little non yarn shopping.

Erin from Bobbins NestErin at Bobbins Nest IMG_0882 Carrie at Bobbin’s Nest

IMG_0884 Beth from Green Planet Yarn

IMG_0887 Pat and Carrie at Yarn Dogs

IMG_0888 Terri and Deborah from Yarn Dogs

IMG_0894 Cathy from Chicks with Stix

IMG_0896 Pat with Ed, Mr Sock Guy, at The Knitting Room

IMG_0897 MaryAnn from The Knitting Room

Comments on: "Day 1…." (1)

  1. Great photos from the Shop Hop! Glad to see people having fun at this year’s event.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

